RELEASE: Gottheimer Hosts Fifth District Hometown Heroes Awards

Hometown Heroes honors veterans, first responders, students, teachers, and community leaders

Above: Congressman Josh Gottheimer with Hometown Hero Honorees

GLEN ROCK, NJ - On Monday, July 6, 2020 U.S. Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5) honored local first responders, veterans, students, search and rescuers, life-saving bystanders, volunteers, teachers, community leaders, and residents during his Fifth District Hometown Heroes Ceremony. 

Hosted on Facebook Live, Fifth District residents tuned in to honor the Hometown Heroes awardees, all of whom were recognized for their dedication to helping the lives of their neighbors, families, and communities.

“We are lucky to have so many unsung heroes in our communities, whose quiet power of service goes on every day without the recognition they truly deserve. They just do it because they care. Today is their day,” said Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5). “These Fifth District Hometown Heroes are nominated by leaders throughout our community — including our mayors, faith leaders, and first responders — as well as by friends, family members, and loved ones who believe that they truly deserve the title. These individuals come from all walks of life, but they all share an idea that is particularly special — they embody our Jersey Values and make our community such a special place to live, work, and raise a family. They are actively helping us build a more perfect union. We all should work to live up to their example."

Full video of the virtual ceremony can be found HERE.

A list of today’s Hometown Hero Honorees is below: 

Kevin Cook, Bergenfield

Jacqueline Fernandez, Bergenfield

Michael and Elana Goldsmith, Bergenfield

Liz Maresca, Fair Lawn

Luis 'Lou' Vasquez, Fair Lawn

Bernie Moerdler, Fair Lawn

Daniel Mezhiborsky, Fair Lawn

John Morley, Franklin Lakes

Rabbi Chanoch Kaplan, Franklin Lakes

Salvatore Reina, Glen Rock

RaQuel James-Goodman, Hackensack

Thomas Freeman, Hackensack

Rabbi Mendy Kaminker, Hackensack

Laura Randazzo, Hardwick

Adam Kerr, Lodi

Bruce Kuipers, Mahwah

Alexander Nagy, Montvale

Andre’ DiMino, Northvale

Alison Fleeson, Oakland

Carol Peterson, Oakland

Stan Kufel, Oradell

Dennis Duddie, Paramus

Janelle Larghi, Park Ridge

Mahmoud Hamza, Ridgewood

Jeremy Lentz, Teaneck

Dionisio Cucuta, Teaneck

Joseph Krause, Teaneck

Dr. Arthur Freiman, Teaneck

Betty Kay, Teaneck

Ofra Parmett, Teaneck

Troy Seifert, Waldwick

Thomas Palaia, Waldwick

Saige Soskin, Washington Township (Bergen)

Mark DeVincentis, Wyckoff

Jonathan Frato, Branchville

Louis Avenatti, Montague

Teddy Sibblies, Newton

Walter Atchison, Newton

Wendy Cooney, Newton

Sandy Mitchell, Sussex Borough

Rebekah Bruesehoff, Vernon

Denise O'Connor, Vernon

Ben Cosh, Wantage

Mark Young, Belvidere

Robert Austin Jr., Oxford