RELEASE: Gottheimer Hosts Bipartisan Fifth District Mayors Summit to Connect Local Leaders with Federal Investment Opportunities to Help Lower Taxes

Mar 29, 2021

Above: Gottheimer meets with North Jersey officials during the 2021 Fifth District Mayors Summit.

GLEN ROCK, NJ — U.S. Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5) concluded a week of virtual seminars with a bipartisan group of mayors, first responders, and administrators from across New Jersey’s Fifth Congressional District, to meet with federal agencies about clawing back more of our federal tax dollars back to North Jersey communities to fight the pandemic, invest in infrastructure projects impacting the region, to support local law enforcement and first responders, to keep our air and water clean, and to lower taxes for North Jersey residents.

“I want to thank all the North Jersey mayors and officials who joined me virtually to discuss how we can get a better return on investment from our federal tax dollars by connecting directly with federal agencies, learning about new opportunities for federal investment, and sharing best practices among our communities so we can serve our constituents better,” said Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5). 

The past week’s Fifth District Mayors Summit included sessions with the U.S. General Services Administration, the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development Office, U.S. Department of Homeland Security FEMA Region II Office, the U.S. Department of Justice and a seminar on how Congressman Gottheimer can help communities apply for federal grants, best practices with applying for federal grants, and the best uses for searching for federal grants.

Mayors who participated included Emerson Mayor Dianne DiPaola, Glen Rock Mayor Kristine Morieko, Haworth Mayor Tom Ference, Montvale Mayor Mike Ghassali, Mahwah Mayor Jim Wysocki, Northvale Mayor Pat Marana, Paramus Mayor Rich LaBarbiera, Ramsey Mayor Deidre Dillon, Ridgewood Mayor Susan Knudsen, Saddle River Mayor Al Kurpis, Andover Borough Mayor John Morgan, Andover Township Mayor Janice McGovern, Hampton Mayor Tim Dooley, Hardyston Mayor Brian Kaminski, Lafayette Mayor Alan Henderson, Montague Mayor Richard Innella, Newton Mayor Matt Dickson, Sussex Borough Mayor Ed Meyer, Vernon Mayor Howard Burrell, Walpack Mayor Victor Maglio, Belvidere Mayor Joe Kennedy, Frelinghuysen Mayor Chirs Stracco, and Hardwick Mayor Kevin Duffy.

Councilmembers who participated included Bogota Councilwoman Connie Carpenter, Fair Lawn Councilmember Gail Rottenstrich, Glen Rock Councilwoman Mary Barchetto, Haworth Councilman Andrew Rosenberg, New Milford Councilwoman Lisa Sandhusen, Norwood Councilwoman Annie Hausmann, Oakland Councilman Grant Van Eck, Old Tappan Councilman Jim Yhu, Oradell Council President Tracy Schoenberg, River Edge Councilwoman Indira Kinsella, Township of Washington (Bergen) Councilwoman Stacey Feeney, Upper Saddle River Councilman Don Hausch, Upper Saddle River Councilman Ed Kane, Westwood Councilman Rob Bicocchi, Andover Twp Councilman John Carafello, Andover Township Councilman Mike Lensak, Frankford Councilman Jim Ayers, Blairstown Deputy Mayor Debrah Waldron, Belvidere Councilman Joe Roth, Frelinghuysen Councilman Keith Ramos, Washington Borough (Warren County) Councilwoman Josephine Noone, and Washington Township Councilwoman Ethel Conry.

First responders who participated included Allendale Police Chief George Scherb, Demarest Police Chief Chris Bianchi, Fair Lawn Police Lieutenant Joe Dawicki, Haworth Police Chief Mike Gracey, Haworth Police Lieutenant Mike Saudino, Haworth Fire Chief Troy Hilcken, Hillsdale Police Chief Rob Francavigilia, Midland Park Police Chief Mike Powderly, Montvale Police Chief Joseph Sanfilippo, Montvale OEM Frank DiPalma, Oakland Police Chief Keith Sanzari, Old Tappan EMS Captain Rich Apramian, Ridgewood Fire Chief James Van Goor, Rochelle Park Police Chief Dean Pinto, Rochelle Park Lieutenant Ed Kukalski, Rochelle Park Lieutenant James DePreta, Wyckoff Police Chief David Murphy, Wyckoff Fire Chief Joe Vander Plaat, Hardyston Fire Chief Will Hickerson, Hardyston Police Chief Scott Lobban, Newton Police Detective Dan Finkle, and Blairstown Police Chief Scott Johnsen.


Recent Posts

May 24, 2024

RELEASE: Gottheimer Joins Congregation Bnai Yeshurun to Discuss Rising Antisemitism and Standing Against Hate at Home

Above: Gottheimer speaking at Congregation Bnai Yeshurun. TEANECK, NJ — U.S. Congressman Josh Gottheimer held a fifth community discussion at Congregation Bnai Yeshurun. Gottheimer dialogued with Rabbi Elliot Schrier about rising antisemitism — online, on campuses, and in North Jersey communities — and his work to combat it. During the event, Congressman Gottheimer highlighted the record […]

May 23, 2024

RELEASE: Gottheimer, D’Esposito Introduce New Legislation to Hold the MTA Accountable for its Hypocrisy

Above: Gottheimer and D’Esposito announcing new legislation to stop MTA CEO Janno Lieber from using federal funds for a taxpayer-funded vehicle. WASHINGTON, DC — Today, Thursday, May 23, 2024, U.S. Representatives Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5) and Anthony D’Esposito (NY-4) introduced new legislation to stop MTA CEO Janno Lieber’s continued Congestion Tax hypocrisy. While hardworking commuters, nurses, teachers, […]

May 22, 2024

RELEASE: House Passes Gottheimer-led Bipartisan Legislation to Modernize Crypto Regulation and Protect Consumers

Above: Gottheimer on the House floor. WASHINGTON, DC — Today, Wednesday, May 22, 2024, the Financial Innovation and Technology for the 21st Century Act (FIT21), which U.S. Congressman Gottheimer helped negotiate in the Financial Services Committee, passed the House with bipartisan support. This bipartisan legislation clarifies regulation for digital assets, bolsters consumer protection, and ensures […]